jump to navigation

What to do, what to do. January 28, 2009

Posted by castillion in EQ2, Second String.
trackback

Well, last night was an off raid night, so we finally had time for some Second String action.

We had a plan to help Kizzie, Snappe’s wife, with some of her fabled epic updates. She needed an update in Chardok and an Update in Sebilis, both of which we knocked out with little difficulty.

It was kind of nice to head back into Chardok. I used to love running this zone as my tank and pulling groups through it when it was difficult. It was something to say you made it all the way to the Queen or through the library with no deaths :p That has really changed now though. TSO has made Chardok very easy.

It was still kind of early when we were done with Kizzie’s updates, so Taylona had not logged in yet. We decided to take Aeyanna (SSG2 Troubadour, Alt of Eyanna) and Sussk (Snappe’s brother, whom I referred to as Sukss the rest of the night) over to RE2 for some leveling and loot. Unfortunately, nothing good dropped but Aeyanna did ding 73, one level closer to 80.

Afterwards, we wanted to head to Crucible. We got all the way to the zone in before Anep remembered he was locked out. Awesome. Since there’s still a bit of loot in Crucible that we need, I swapped over to Saynt to tank it and Anep swapped over to his dirge.

I have to say I was a little nervous about tanking Crucible for Second String. One, Saynt is an alt tank and would be tanking for a group full of mythicaled players. Two, we would not have a chanter for the Master fight, and I couldn’t imagine doing that without mez.

We totally kicked ass though with only one wipe during the zone when Taylona’s stuck his big ass into some adds and we got overwhelmed.

It was really nice for me to get to tank a zone like the Crucible again and do as well as I did. Saynt used to be my main and I was a raid MT in EQ1 for years, but I tank so little nowadays that I get a little nervous when I’m called upon to tank a zone.

I have to admit that I’ve been poking around with a guardian alt lately. The changes coming with GU51 have me a little worried that I won’t enjoy the pally as much anymore. It’s not the change to amends, I am really not worried about that at all. It’s that they are refocusing pallies from AE to single target tank. To me, the most fun I have on the pally is pulling a ton of mobs and then tanking them all while the DPS burns ’em down. I guess I feel like if I’m going to be a single target tank, I might as well be a guardian and enjoy all the benefits of the guardian class. Don’t get me wrong, I totally believe crusaders can tank about anything guardians can, it’s just I’m of the minority. The majority of the population of EQ2 believes that you have to have a guardian to tank anything outside of CoA.

Then again, the tank is merely my alt so who cares really. I don’t need to tank anything outside of instances.

On the other hand, it would be nice to have McMad in EQ2 :p.

I just don’t know. I know I don’t have the kind of time to level an alt that I used to have though, so I doubt he gets past level 30. I am just feeling nostalgic about McMad, and If I were to get him to 80 I would be able to outfit him totally in T2 gear right off the bat with the amount of shards I have saved up on Castillion.

I..just..don’t..know..

I’ll probably just skip it and keep Saynt. I just don’t know if I have it in me for a 4th level 80.

Tonight we are going back to Cod for backflags and VS for some other epic updates. I will fill ya in tomorrow if I don’t gouge my eyes out during VS.

Comments»

1. Kilanna - January 28, 2009

Honestly I believe that Pallys CAN tank anything that a Guard can. We have a Pally as our raid MT – Arisha. I used to almost exclusively heal for a Guard – and from my experience as a healer I believe in Pallys as tanks.

I am worried that they are changing Pally from encounter to single target tanks too


Leave a Reply

