jump to navigation

I get by with a little help from my friends. May 4, 2009

Posted by castillion in EQ2, everquest ii, MMO, Second String.
trackback

Much has happened since last we met. It was a very full weekend which brought some good news and some bad news. We’ll start with the good news.

Aiden is dead. We cleared the Ward of Elements!

Sunday I had made plans with Stormraven to do the x2. The set up we took was:

Stormraven – 80 Shadowknight
oogg – 80 Defiler
Wolfette – 80 Swashbuckler
Sinnir – 80 templar
Castillion – 80 Coercer
Callous – 80 Guardian

Kaflor – 80 Templar
Wylee – 80 Troubadour
Chus – 80 Necromancer
Nugsinoth – 80 Conjorer
Rhyanna – 80 Fury
Erienne – 80 Wizard

We had planned on forming up early in the morning to give ourselves ample time to clear the zone and work on Aiden. The zone clear was uneventful and we killed all the named up to Aiden with little issue. I wore pants the entire time. they did add some neat charms to the zone, but I lost the roll on all of them ;) We pulled Aiden. Then we pulled Aiden again. Then we pulled Aiden for an hour and decided to take a break for lunch.

90 minutes later we regrouped, minus Chus, whom I assume fell asleep folding laundry again. We replaced him with Blaveklostthegame – 80 Dirge, and continued on. We pulled Aiden, and pulled Aiden and pulled Aiden. Yeah, that’s a lot of pulls, but we refined our strat on every one. Finally, we all had our Super Mario jump-on-the-flaming-tornados skillset honed to perfection and we pulled him for the final time. He dropped the templar/Shadowknight/someotherclassthatisnotcoercer arms, which Kaflor won.

It did feel good to finally kill that bastard, but more in the “haha we beat your stupid hoop jumping event” way that in the “wow that was cool” way. The Varsoon event still wins in my mind ;) I do feel confident in repeating our win there, but it will take a lot of training every time you bring someone new in or change your raid setup around.

I do have to give our little raid a ton of credit. It took fortitude to hang in there and die as often as we did on Sunday and be willing to stick it out for the duration. It was certainly a comment on teamwork and everyone deserves to pat themselves on the back. There are no slackers on that kill for sure.

It was a pretty full weekend besides just the x2, with some TSO raid zones, SoH and grouping mixed in. Last night we spent the night grouping the Kunark instances with me tanking and everyone playing alts. We had a good time.

Now, that bad news.

Anep and Sasspanz have decided to take a break from the game. They’re making some changes in real life and it will prevent them from logging in for at least a couple of months probably. We will miss them dearly and I wish them well with whatever is coming up for them in the immediate and distant future. We love you guys.

That’s half of the original Second String down. Snappe was the first to go, now Anep and Sassy. That leaves Taylona, me and Sinnir left of the original gang. I have to say I have had a blast this entire time. We’ve had our ups and downs but far far more ups than anything else. You guys have all made the game what it is for me today. Of course we’ll all stay in touch in the real, but I’ll miss our adventures in Norrath.

I don’t know what this is going to do to us in game yet. Second String has expanded enough we can still blow up zones. Rhesus’ tank has really come a long way so we have him to abuse. I just don’t know right now as I think most of us are still in a state of disbelief. I know that some members of SS are wanting to explore different classes too, so this may be a time of reforming and altering our group builds. We’ll see.

Snappe, Anep, and Sasspanz, how many months has it been since we first started grouping? I know if we counted the laughter as days it would be decades. Thank you guys for the fun. You all know my email, even if Snappe is the only one that ever writes <sob>

Good Journies friends.

(I know Anep and Sass may be on occassionally while their subscribtion runs out, but I’m putting this out there now damn it ;)

Comments»

1. Kilanna - May 4, 2009

I really would miss my boys if any of them left too :((

Having said that, good luck to Anep and Sass as they persue some adventures outside of Norrath for a wee while. Just an evolution in good friendships eh!!

2. Sassy - May 6, 2009

Thanks for the well wished Cast and Kilanna too =) We will miss SS terribly, but I know as soon as things steady out for us, we will be right back where we belong with our bestest friends in Norrath! Besides, we <3 you guys too much to be away for too long =)

3. Snappe - August 9, 2009

DAMN RIGHT I WRITE SUCKA!


Leave a Reply

