jump to navigation

Season’s Change May 15, 2009

Posted by castillion in eq 2, MMO, Second String.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Another quiet night in game last night.

It seems like a long time since we’ve done anything challenging in Second String.  I can’t remember the last time we did anything harder than the medium difficulty shard zones. We haven’t even cleared the x2 as a Second String event.

I don’t know if people are just feeling a little burnout, are wanting a change in characters, or what. Boredom is starting to creep in for me though. I hope this isn’t a precursor to what we can expect once Anep and Sass are offline. There’s still a lot of content coming out, including a new x2 raid zone, that I will want to see.

Unfortunately, we don’t have a reliable tank outside of Anep. Rhesus’ alt, Tarsir, is very good but I am not sure how well our schedules line up at the moment. I guess that means I will be dusting off the pally, but I have a little bit of relearning to do to get better as a tank. I also don’t know how we will support this without everyone playing different alts or something. It’s difficult to do much without some time of utility/support character.

Food for thought I guess. I know I’ve contributed to it myself. I’ve been so busy with work and so tired at the end of the day I am not good for much in the way of organizing.

Last night was no exception. Sinnir and I logged in late, so Anep was off in another group outside of Second String. That left me tanking for a 5 man group, one of whom was an alt. We decided on Befallen: Cavern of the Afflicted and Halls of the Forsaken.

Caverns of the afflicted sucks without much AE dps by the way ;) We struggled for a little bit trying to get through it with 5 and a Pally as the only AE DPS. Fortunately, Aeyanna logged in and brought his troubadour over which made things go much more smoothly. Halls of the Forsaken went very smoothly afterwards and we all put a few shards in our bags.

I really don’t mind tanking as long as I have at least one utility in the group, a bard or chanter. Unfortunately, my main is usually the only utility on our little group, so when I am tanking we lose that. Taylona and Sinnir both have an Illusionist, Sinnir’s is level 80, but then that deprives me of my healers. What a delicate balancing game we have going on here. I will say that tanking for a group with no utility at all is an exercise in frustration.

Yes, I’m a primadonna.

Tonight we are raiding something. I am not sure what. I don’t think I’ve even signed up as I think I forgot to fill out the rest of the month. Unfortunately I can’t hit the link from work, so I hope they save me a spot anyway! Otherwise, I’ll cheer them on from the sidelines.

Comments»

1. Sassy - May 15, 2009

Yes I have been a lil SS deprived lately. Now things are getting kinda fuzzy with the whole moving and all and we’re not sure exactly what’s going to be happening. But as far as SS goes, I would like to see us hitting some harder zones and going back to our usual antics. As for tonight tho, we probably won’t be on because I have to go to the doc. but we should be back tomarrow. I’m sure they’ll save ya a spot on the raid tho so good luck to you guys =)

2. I think I need a holiday « Dwarven Runes - May 17, 2009

[…] 2 and Everquest II and Guilds and Raids Kilanna 12:05 am After reading Castillions post today, it has prompted me to respond in my own post rather than comment on his blog since I releate to it […]


Leave a Reply

