jump to navigation

Long weekends kick so much ass. May 26, 2009

Posted by castillion in eq 2, everquest ii, Second String.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Wow, this is the longest stretch of time I’ve gone between posts. 6 days!?! I can blame it on the long weekend combined with some stuff going on in real life that just hasn’t had me in the mood to blog.

I did get some good gaming time in.

There were a few raids over the past week, mainly focusing on TSO. There’s not a lot to report on the raiding front as it’s just been more of the same. Summertime and some morale issues I think, have slowed our progress greatly. Don’t get me wrong, I am still having a blast personally, there’s just no exciting new deaths to report upon and the Coercer is actually decently geared nowadays, so until we start killing new mobs that drop new patterns, I don’t think I’ll be reporting new raid gear either.

I spent much of the long weekend working on my swashbuckler, Cilantro. He was once my main and playing him on our Leviathan raid got me a little nostalgic for him, so I decided to work his AA up and gear him out a little. I started Saturday with 134 AA on him. I haven’t played him much at all since TSO was released was he’s a little behind the curve. I managed to gear him out slightly, he’s now wearing a mixed set of 3 pieces of TSO T2 gear and 3 pieces of T1 gear. He’s really hurting to get the last few pieces of TSO and upgrade his jewelry.

I had also planned on getting him his mythical on our Friday night raid. However, our sign ups sucked and SOE changed the Nexona event, so there was some relearning, so we spent the entire night on Friday killing Nexona. We did manage to get her down but raid leaders called the raid after killing her, leaving the zone with the first floor cleared and only a couple of days left on the zone with no raids planned. I was disappointed and I still don’t understand the decision of starting a VP instance then continuing it a week later. It just did not leave much room to clear the zone and it bit us. I mean, come on, kill the two hardest mobs in the zone then just not come back? What a horrible waste.

All was not lost though. I sent a tell to one of the leaders on Saturday and asked her if I could have the VP zone before the timer expired. I figured, worst come to worst, I’ll lead a pick up raid through the Second Wing for Cilantro’s myth and whoever else’s update that might need, but first, I wanted to see how far we could get as Second String into the Second Wing. So, I asked my cohorts if they were interested in trying to group Xygoz for the swashbuckler update. They, of course, are always eager for a new challenge. Unfortunately, since it was a holiday weekend, we were missing a lot of the full Second String Crew, but we took 8 people in with us:

Tarsir (Rhesus) 80 Shadowknight.
Worknemangel (Anep) – 80 Dirge
Castillion – 80 Coercer
Sinnir – 80 Templar
Sasspanz – 80 Assassin
Theonee – 80 Wizard
Seeb – 80 Brigand
Taylona – 80 Fury

The plan was to clear to Xygoz, then I could swap to Cilantro, my 80 Swashbuckler.

I was actually going to be happy if we managed to kill one trash mob with 8 people. We zoned in, ran to the second floor, and prepared to pull the first wandering Rancor.

We eyed the Rancor as it stumbled around the bridges with it’s strange halting gait. Tarsir took his place in the front of the group and the air exploded around us as we all cast our individual spells, preparing for the clash. Our nerves were on edge and we knew this would be no small challenge. Pulling a mob in Veeshan’s Peak, still a huge challenge made for 24 people that many guilds have not even stepped foot into, and here we are with 8 people? It was suicide. We were here and there was no turning back now. With a roar of “Incoming!” in guttural trollish, Tarsir charged the ancient creature and we all joined into the fray, preparing ourselves for an epic battle that would probably ultimately end in our death. Suddenly,

The mob died. Yeah. It was anti-climatic and we blew it up with ease. We cleared the rest of the way up to Xygoz, although we did die a lot and we had to find some creative ways to get around the zone and avoid some of the trash mobs (thank god for Orbs of Reconciliation), but we did it. We cleared to the sleeping dragon with 8 people. Now, the real challenge, we have to actually kill a named mob in VP. With 8 people (did I mention that?) and we have to do it without Castillion and instead with a gimp ass Swashbuckler. So, I swapped over to Cilantro and we all took our places under his belly for the first pull.

We engaged and manage to get him to 80% without much difficulty, although mana was getting low. That was enough to trigger the first event and the mini dragons spawned to make fun of Xygoz and his lack of pants. We moved over and managed to clear all of the mini dragons and get back onto Xygoz. Power was becoming a real issue without the coercer, as well as the fears. We managed to get him to 58% before our first wipe of the night. Yeah, 58% with 8 people. Holy shit.

We pulled it a few more times but it seemed like the wheels would just fall off around 55% and I realized we were just not going to be able to kill Xygoz with the 8 of us, although I felt certain that with the full roster of Second String we could have done it. We weren’t done though and we started looking for friends online, eventually getting 4 more people to join. The group was now:

Darkc – 80 Shadowknight
Worknemangel (Anep) – 80 Dirge
Sasspanz – 80 Assassin
Sinnir – 80 Templar
Cilantro (Castillion) – 80 Swashbuckler
Jorun – 80 Warden
Tarsir (Rhesus) – 80 Shadowknight
Haku (Elonias) – 80 Mystic
Taylona – 80 Fury
Seeb – 80 Brigand
Theonee – 80 Wizard
Engram – 80 Illusionist

We pulled Xygoz and promptly killed him with 12 completing Cilantro’s mythical quest. The kill also dropped the VP pattern for swashbuckler wrists that Cilantro looted, which was an awesome and unexpected bonus as forearms are the one piece I couldn’t upgrade with TSO T2.

Wow. 12 people. Second String, you guys kick ass and it’s amazing what we can pull off sometimes. Dark, Jorun, and Slip, thank you so much for coming over to VP and helping us finish what we had started.

The next day I forced Anep to tank for us, even though he grumbled about it, and I took Cilantro out for a spin. Anep was wanting a break from tanking, but fuck that, I tanked for him the day after he got his Inquisitor his mythical. Paybacks biatch.

Anep and I are now tied for mythicals with three each. I might be able to beat him if I can bring myself to finish leveling the templar. That is a slim possibility though as I just suck at healing. I’m a button masher not a clicker and healing revolves around click-to-cure/heal/rez/afk. Also, Watching Sinnir, it seems that I need to be able to type 180 words a minute so I can get an entire paragraph of tells in between each heal. I think that’s a healer thing too.

So, I played Cilantro a lot this weekend and I had a ton of fun on him. I’m going to finish gearing him out in T2 gear, maybe try to buy him a nice offhand if I see one up for auction, and continue filling out his AA. It’s nice to have options to group on and in case the dreaded Proc Nerf of 2009 really kills my fun on the chanter. I don’t want to say the sky is falling, and I’m attempting to regear some to be able to absorb the proc nerf, but I fully anticipate a 20% drop in the Coercer’s DPS, which is going to be hard to swallow.

We shall see.

Wow, I have a lot to talk about when I skip so many days and I wasn’t able to squeeze everything in. We’ll talk more tomorrow though.

Hasta!

Comments»

1. sinnir - May 26, 2009

ROFLMAO 180 gwam? hahahaha /clears the smoke..

2. Kilanna - May 26, 2009

I loved the Xygoz encounter!!!


Leave a Reply

