jump to navigation

Be prepared! June 15, 2009

Posted by castillion in eq 2.
trackback

Still alive and still kickin’.

It’s been incredibly busy as of late in real life, preparing for summertime and enjoying the warm weather, well what these northerners call warm anyway. Now that I’m living way up north, I’m having to adjust to still wearing a jacket in June ;)

The past week has been fun in game. I’ve worked my way into a few pick up groups here and there and started building my shards back up. There was a time when I thought I’d have a bank full of shards, but trying to bring the swashbuckler up to speed and winning a few upgrades really depleted my shards. I was below 10! I’m back up to a level where I can buy an upgrade or two if I need, just in time for the new update. I hear that there might be some upgraded version of some of the jewelry I’ve won out of WoE, so it’ll be nice to have the shards to pick those upgrades up.

Speaking of WoE, I’ve ventured into it a few more times. Castillion has a full set of T3, minus the arms, which is the only piece I really want. We managed another Aiden kill last night and the Coercer arms did not drop. We were able to reset the zone right after the Aiden kill, so we cleared to Aiden again and I am hoping we can drop him tonight. I want those damn arms!

On the raiding front, it’s been steady. We haven’t killed anything new, but we’ve managed to kill the same TSO mobs over and over. Tonight we are running epic update raids, Korsha, Leviathan, Thuuga, etc. in preparation for VP  and, I have to say, I’m really looking forward to it. Anything other than TSO right now is good. It’s definitely time for a small break from those zones.

Tuesday is supposed to bring about GU52. I’m ready for it. I think I’ve prepared fairly well for the proc changes and, by my calculations with ACT, I should only lose around 5% of my personal DPS in most zones. It’s definitely going to hit the more uber chanters pretty hard, but since I am not sporting any avatar gear or anything beyond T4 boots, I am able to adjust gear a little bit to offset the change. I guess this is one benefit of not being the biggest badass on the block. I still have a couple of pieces I’d like to replace to try to keep my current DPS steady, but I wasn’t able to pick them up before the change hits.

I think this is going to come as a shock to some of the people I run with that are claiming I do too much DPS. I think they are going to see the proc change hitting them harder than it hits me as I’ve tried to prepare as much as I can. On that note, with Xorlin in the guild now , who outparses me easily, it’s nice to be able to say “see that’s how you should be parsing” and it’s not that I’m overpowered necessarily, as much as it’s a matter of putting the work in. Although I realize that enchanter DPS, especially illusionists, is probably going to be tuned down. I just hope it’s for the right reasons.

Talk at you tomorrow!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

