jump to navigation

Bellywhumping in Kurn’s Tower June 17, 2009

Posted by castillion in eq 2.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Well. It’s hard to say. I appeared to be parsing pretty well last night. I won’t really know for sure until we have a raid, but thus far it appears as if I’ve prepared well enough for where I’m at in progression. I was busting 10k in Kurn’s Tower without any buffs of any kind, not even a dirge, so it looks as if my DPS will be pretty steady.

So, no whining about the patch here. I know I will never reach the heights of the parse that other, more uber, Coercers have been able to hit, but if I never knew what Strawberry Ice cream tasted like, I’d never know what I missed.

Yes, we went to Kurn’s Tower last night. Let me start from the beginning..

I logged on and immediately did 3 things.

First, I checked my gear to see what had changed and went to Lavastorm to see the new jewelry. I did have a couple of pieces that were reset to attuneable, but since I was wearing them I just re-attuned them. The new jewelry in Lavastorm was interesting, but right now 25 spell damage is not worth the 20 shard and 1 plat+ price tag.

Next, I visited the new Research Assistant in Neriak and started a spell upgrade. I will have the master version of Possess Essence in a mere 25 days.

Lastly, I went and started working on getting keyed for Kurn’s Tower. The process starts at the Bellywhumper camp in Fens of Nathsar with Pulnil the Haggler. I assume you need to have some level of faction with the Bellywhumpers to start the quest, but since I had already done all the quests and had my pretty coin, he gave it to me right away.

The flagging process is pretty painless and just involves running around the zone killing some green mobs and harvesting some stuff. It took me about 45 minutes to complete. The AA experience improvement was awesome. I am definitely going to love that part of the update.

Later on in the night we had planned to run Kurn’s Tower with Stormraven and Co. We formed up as follows:

Stormraven – 80 Shadowknight
Sinnir – 80 Templar
Oogg – 80 Defiler
Wolfette – 80 Swashbuckler
Castillion – 80 Coercer
Taylona – 80 Fury
Rhyanna – 80 Fury
Ddordos – 80 Ranger
Callous – 80 Guardian
Seeb – 80 Brigand
Llebreknit – 80 Illusionist
Wylee – 80 Troubadour

We zoned into the zone and were at the bottom of a huge pit with a climbable wall leading up, which I immediately climbed. I had ample opportunity to study the next room as Rhyanna tried to figure out that you climb up the wall, not run back down the corridor and zone out. It took her a couple of tries to get it but she eventually joined us at the top of the pit. (<3 Rhy)

We were standing at the edge of a huge chamber with some kind of dais in the middle that was flanked on both sides by lit firepots. Groups of orange con mobs were spread around the room and the named mob, Haggle Baron Klok, was roaming all over the chamber.

We really had no idea what we were getting into, so our plan was to clear all the trash mobs and then pull the named into a corner somewhere. So we did. We pulled him and at 85% he ported to the middle of the raised area and the event reset.

Whateth.The.Fucketh.

We tried again with the same result but this time we noticed that at 85% we got a red or blue detrimental. So, we decided to pull him on the dais and jump in the firepots to cure the detrimental. That was a bad idea as, while fire might cure disease, the third degree burns are a nasty side effect.

We eventually found that when we were cursed with the blue and red effects that correspondingly colored bubbles were popping around the room and, with some input from friends, we figured out you should stand in the bubble that matches the color of your detrimental until the detrimental ticks off.

We also discovered that the mobs in the room respawn. ouch.

A few thousand pulls later and we killed him. He dropped a very nice belt that Stormraven won and got the discovery for (of course, he is a loot whore). It was pretty late by this time, so we gave the next mob a couple of cursory pulls and called it a night.

I wish I had more to tell you about the mobs in the zone, but with our late start I am happy we got one down. Here’s a basic strat for the first named in the new x2 zone, Kurn’s Tower:

Haggle Baron Klok

Pull him to the dais in the center of the room. Be careful to avoid the fire pots on each side as they have a small radius AE that will put a hurting on you.

Periodically during the fight he will curse random people in the group (the tank was cursed most of the time for us). It hurts so I recommend curing it asap, especially off of the tank.

He also has a random knock up which is only problematic really if it knocks you into respawns.

At 85%, 70%, 55%, 40%, and 25% health, everyone in the zone will get either a red detrimental or a blue detrimental. At the same time, two spheres will spawn, one red and one blue. Everyone must run into the sphere that matches the color of their detriment and stay in the sphere until the detriment completely ticks off. Anyone outside of their respective spheres when it ticks off will be cursed and charmed. It’s a long charm and it completely sucks if you get it, so be sure you’re in the right sphere. Klok also ports to the middle of the dias and root himself until the detrimentals tick off, then he’ll charge whoever has aggro. The tank should drag him back on top of the pedestal as soon as he can.

When you finally get him to 10% health, he either summons adds or summons the mobs that you left up in the room to come help him, but the adds can be avoided if you are fighting him on the pedestal in the middle of the room.

I think he also summons a heroic add occasionally during the encounter but we killed it so fast it’s hard to know if it was a result of the script or just some other random add.

That’s all we know about the zone right now. We did get Klok down and that’s all I gleaned from the fight so far. I’ll update as more information flows in and I’ll let you know if we have any success on mobs farther in.

’till then!

Comments»

1. Wolfette - June 17, 2009

“Next, I visited the new Research Assistant in Neriak and started a spell upgrade. I will have the master version of Possess Essence in a mere 25 days.”
psst Cast there is one in the guild hall

2. castillion - June 17, 2009

Yes, but everyone knows the highest quality goods come from Neriak.

3. Wolfette - June 18, 2009

Thats only because they have been stolen from Qeynos first!

4. Tion - June 25, 2009

Thanks for the good info, was of assistance in perfecting our strat to get the kill. The second named, well we still have a lot to work on to say the least.

5. castillion - June 26, 2009

Yeah we haven’t been back in since our first trip through with Fan Fair and all. He’s a bastard!

Hopefully will have some good info on him soon.


Leave a Reply

