jump to navigation

Aion Beta Weekend August 17, 2009

Posted by castillion in Aion, eq 2, Second String.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

/streeeetchhh

Lot of computer time this weekend. “Really?”, you ask. “Please tell us all about your adventures in Norrath.” Well, let’s start it this way. THERE WERE NONE O.M.G.

That’s right, it was Aion beta weekend and we played that from Friday night through Sunday morning (Sin and I didn’t play at all on Sunday proper). I’ll talk a little about the game as we’ve experienced it, but I can say, the more I play, the more I like it. I expect Sin and I will play it quite a bit at launch.

That being said, here’s what I did. I played all 4 classes (Mage, Scout, Warrior, Preist) up to level 10, and some beyond, although only slightly. I didn’t want to play too far beyond level 10 because I want to save the surprise for when the  game goes live. Level 10 is when you get your wings and I just had to have my wings on all my toons. I played 2 characters to level 10 on the Elyos (light) side and 2 characters to level 10 on the Asmodian (dark) side. I don’t say evil and good because it’s all a matter of perspective, isn’t it? ;) You guys that read the blog know I would prefer the Elyos side as they are more human or barbarian looking, but I got outvoted 500 to 1 and we’ll be starting Asmodian at live. That’s fine though, I created a look that I could bond with this weekend.

I’d like to heal in this game again. I’ve played the healer role in many of the games we’ve tried and I’ve got the itch to get back to that. I don’t know if I’m going to be able to though, as we may need a good tank and I fit the bill for that too. It definitely doesn’t look like we’ll be needing DPS.

Listen to me, talking like we have a large group coming over. We really don’t. Some of SS, a couple of friends from work, maybe some other friends from EQ2. I’d like to see several people come over that tested it this weekend, but I don’t know how likely that is to happen. We’ll also be balancing time between Aion and EQ2, so there’s that, at least, that’s the plan for now.

Aion is fun. It’s pretty. It’s different enough to be interesting and there’s going to be pvp. I have been missing pvp and pvp in EQ2 is lackluster at best. Then there’s that whole flying thing, which is just tons of fun. It looks promising so far, but I’ve been burned before, so staying wary ;)

That’s all I’m goign to say about that probably until it releases next month. Stay tuned for more Norrathian adventures in between!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

