jump to navigation

I wasn’t talking about the ring. February 23, 2010

Posted by castillion in eq 2.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

OK. It’s been a week. I’m sure you’re asking yourself, “What the FUCK Castillion? Where’s the fucking post? Have you even PLAYED the new expansion? WHAT THE FUCKING FUCK MAN?”

First off, calm down.

Secondly, yes I have played a bit, although not as much as I would have liked. Work has kept me extremely busy and that’s a good thing as Sinnir is keeping us in the bills. It’s like she’s afraid we might run out or something. (I kid, I love you honey).

Here’s an update on Castillion then. I am currently level 86 with 205 AA. What do I think of the new expansion? Honestly, I haven’t seen much of it. The first few days, the lag was terrible. Spell lag of a few seconds just kills me (literally and figuratively). It was as bad as it was when TSO was released, it’s like SOE learned nothing from the TSO release. We got the typical response of “Well there’s so many people in the new zones, the zones can’t handle it.” Newsflash SOE, EQ2 has been out for 5 years, you have a good idea what the population of new zones is going to be, plan accordingly. You really can’t use the “we didn’t expect so many people” unless you are just releasing a new game. I know you guys like to use things from other games, but that excuse is really not something you can “borrow”.

That being said, I tried to do a few of the quests in Paineel, got annoyed and went and soloed Chelsith. It turned out Chelsith was pretty good XP at level 82.

We managed to get a semi-SS group together (me, Anep, Rhesus, Taylona, along with two guildies) and were one of the first in the guild to clear the Vasty Deep: Conservatory zone. It was a lot of fun and a pretty zone. We even killed the last named in there. Unfortunately nothing really interesting dropped. I then proceeded to fill Stormraven (PLP) in on the strats for the zone as he went in a few hours after us. He cleared the zone got 3 masters, an awesome fabled cloak and a cool as hell looking dagger. What a bitch. See if I tell you strats again asshole.

Friday night I was sick and didn’t feel like doing much really, I couldn’t even bring myself to raid, so I popped into Chelsith and soloed it again. Ding level 84.

Saturday I signed up for a p.u.g. for another one of the new zones in the hole Demitrik’s Bastion. It was an interesting zone but we didn’t finish the whole thing, it seems to be rather large. There was a cool SK boss flying around on a Pegasus. That was pretty awesome. Saturday night I had to work all night, so I was back in Chelsith soloing in between working periods. That finished out level 86 for me.

Sunday Sinnir wanted to celebrate all my overtime by going to the Mall of America, so I didn’t get any playtime in Sunday night as my typing hand was tired from opening and closing my wallet all day.

We raided last night, so I didn’t get any time in the new zones either. I just haven’t been able to explore them much. I should be able to get out and poke around a bit tonight. I plan on hitting level 90 by Sunday at the latest. That’s a reasonable goal I expect.

I’m not going to go into the gear and spell upgrades (or lack thereof) right now as I am just not sure what my upgrade path is going to be yet. I guess I will eventually fill out my expert spells so I can research the new masters, it’s just a little frustrating that the new expert teir expert level spells are worse than my previous teir masters. There’s not a lot of reason to upgrade. I also haven’t found a lot of reason to upgrade my gear, although I’ve seen an interesting piece here or there. I’ll write more about this though in a couple weeks when I’ve got more of an idea about the gear and have spent some time in the instances. Right now, I don’t understand the fact that none of the gear has any resists at all on it and why I’d want to wear the gear if it doesn’t have any resists. I just don’t get that.

Anyway, I’ll be out looking to group tonight, I hope to have  an intersting story about one of the new zones to talk about tomorrow.

Until then, keep it secret, keep it safe.

Comments»

1. Stormraven - February 23, 2010

My God the whining. Ok we are now even I gave you strat for Outer Vaults. Go forth young man and loot.

2. Sinnir - June 17, 2010

tap tap….this thing on?

3. Shmooove - November 11, 2010

Where are the updates, mon? Experiencing writer’s block? Not like I am any better!

4. castillion - November 12, 2010

Yeah I guess things died down there for a while when Second String went to shit.

However, there has been some developments in my gaming, so maybe I should fire this thing back up? I’ll work on getting that together this weekend :p

5. Shmooove - November 15, 2010

At least tell us if you have beat Guitar Hero yet :p

As for me I have taken a longterm leave of absence from MMO’s until SWTOR comes out. Been playing a bit of Mass Effect and L4D2 but my main hobby has moved over to astronomy. Bought a used telescope and have been staring at faint fuzzies in the sky. Fun stuff.

Anyway – looking forward to you next post, if you ever get off your ass to write one.


Leave a Reply

